### Coopersville Area Public Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting Minutes October 14, 2024 7:00 pm

# 1. Call to Order

The Regular Meeting of the Coopersville Area Public Schools Board of Education was called to order by President Mike Michalak at 7:00 pm.

Roll Call: Members Present: J. Buth, M. Michalak, S. Nelson, G. Twietmeyer, L. VanSickle

Members Absent: S. Campbell, A. Gillhespy

Also Present: M. Spencer, Superintendent; L. Adams, Secretary to the Board; Kara Heacox, Student Board Representative.

### 2. Communication

- a. <u>Student Board Representative</u> Senior Kara Heacox, Student Board Representative, reported on current events at the High School.
- b. <u>Mini Grant Awards</u> The Board recognized staff members who are receiving Mini Grants for the 2024-25 school year.
- c. <u>New Teacher Introductions</u> New teachers were introduced to the Board.
- d. <u>Audience Comments</u> Kelly Balkema reported on CEA happenings.
- e. Board Communications
  - i. The Board received the fall Neola policy updates for first reading.
  - ii. Lynn VanSickle talked about the OASBA General Membership Meeting on December 11.
  - iii. The Board received a reminder that the MASB Delegate Assembly will be on October 24, 2024.

### 3. Informational and Discussion Items

- a. <u>Personnel Report</u> The Personnel Report was provided showing the most recent changes in staff.
- b. <u>Student Recognition</u> Each month, the Board recognizes students for their significant contributions or recognitions.

# 4. Consent Agenda

MOTION by Twietmeyer, supported by VanSickle, to approve the Consent Agenda, as follows:

- a. Minutes, Bills, and Payrolls as presented.
  - Motion unanimously carried.

#### 5. Action Items

a. <u>Student Discipline</u> – MOTION by VanSickle, supported by Twietmeyer, to expel Student 1. *Motion unanimously carried.* 

# 6. Superintendent's Report -

Matt Spencer and Tennille Woodward presented on student growth and achievement. They did a comparison with peer districts.

7. <u>Adjournment</u> – MOTION by Twietmeyer, supported by VanSickle, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 7:53 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Adams Recording Secretary